CITBA Comments to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit Regarding Recent Proposed Rules Changes

On September 1, 2017, CITBA submitted comments regarding the proposed rules changes put forth by theU.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit regarding changes t Rules 47.4 and 47.5 of the Court's rules.

CITBA's comments can be found below.
Open CITBA Comments to CAFCCITBA Comments to CAFC

Celebrate the Career of the Honorable Nicholas Tsoucalas

As he steps down from the bench, the U.S. Court of International Trade invites you to join its judges and staff in celebrating the past half century's judicial service of the Honorable Nicholas Tsoucalas on courts of the City and State of New York, and of the United States of America.

Thursday, June 16, 2016 at 5:00pm
8th Floor Library
United States Court of International Trade
One Federal Plaza
New York, NY

RSVP Acceptance Only By June 8, 2016

Small Claims Procedure Pilot Project at U.S. Court of International Trade

The U.S. Court of International Trade (CIT) has announced a pilot project to test the feasibility of a small claims procedure at the CIT.  The project focuses on expediting discovery when all parties to a case agree that it is appropriate.  While there is no specific monetary cap for a small claim, it is expected that the cases will have less than $50,000 in controversy and will have limited impact on future entries that might come before the Court.  CITBA members are encouraged to review the materials the CIT has posted and, as appropriate, participate in the pilot project.  More information, including a proposed discovery plan, is available here.

Andrew P. Vance Memorial Writing Competition

CITBA and Brooklyn Law School (BLS) sponsor this annual Writing Competition to encourage law students who are interested in careers in customs and international trade law. The competition honors the memory of Andrew Vance, past president of CITBA and a distinguished practitioner and public servant.  Entrants must be currently enrolled in a JD or LLM program at any of the nation's law schools. Additional information and instructions for participation in this competition is forth in this link (you will need a program that reads .pdf files such as Adobe Acrobat Reader).
Click here to view winners since 1999.