Barbara S. Williams Lifetime Achievement Award

The lifetime achievement award honors the memory of Ms. Barbara S. Williams, a former board member of the Customs and
International Trade Bar Association and the former Attorney in Charge of the International Trade Field Office of the U.S. Department of Justice. During her tenure, Ms. Williams served the United States with great distinction, integrity, and honor, defending the interests of the government while heeding the legitimate concerns of its citizens seeking redress. She was admired for her dedication, work ethic, generosity, and candor. Ms. Williams was an active member of the Advisory Committee for the U.S. Court of International Trade, was the first U.S. government Board Member of the Customs and International Trade Bar Association, and served as the first law clerk to the Hon. Richard W. Goldberg of the U.S. Court of International Trade. Ms. Williams’ career exemplifies the ideals of this award.
Award Criteria:
A strong candidate for the award should have demonstrated one or more of the following criteria:
  • Substantial and long-term contributions to the practice of international trade and/or customs law. A “substantial and long-term contribution” shall be considered to be one demonstrating a level of dedication and achievement beyond that expected in the normal course of an individual’s or organization’s work.
  • Service and support to the U.S. Court of International Trade and its legal community.
  • Created, influenced, or expanded opportunities in the practice of international trade and customs law for the next generation of lawyers.
  • Service to the development of the international trade and customs legal profession.
  • Service to the bar.
  • Advanced ethical practice and professional responsibility in the field of international trade and customs law.
Nominees may be CITBA members or nonmembers. Sitting members of the CITBA Nomination Committee or CITBA Board may not be nominated.

Kathleen W. Cannon

Michael S. O'Rourke


Sandra Lee Bell - 2021
Joseph F. Donohue - 2021
Sandra Friedman - 2021
Patrick C. Reed - 2021
Richard M. Belanger - 2019
Donald B. Cameron, Jr. - 2018
Jeanne E. Davidson - 2018
Tina P. Kimble - 2017
David M. Cohen - 2016
Gail T. Cumins - 2016
William D. Outman III - 2016
Valerie A. Slater - 2016
Terence P. Stewart - 2016